Live Your Vision

My time is up; I’m jumping ship. You might expect me to say that the blog has really taken off and I’m making enough here to quit my day job. You’d be disappointed.

"Temptation", Joel Montes, CC
“Temptation”, Joel Montes, CC

The fact is that, while I’ve tremendously enjoyed working as a Funeral Director to bring families peace during their time of need, it was never my dream. I struggled to reconcile my passion for comforting and building such genuine relationship with my ultimate desire to be elsewhere, pursuing my own future.

Listen, there are a lot of things out there that keep us pursuing someone else’s vision of our futures:

  • Money
  • Fear
  • Comfort
  • Convenience

But these can be the antagonists in your memoir. For me, it got to the point where I examined my situation and saw Satan standing me on the mountain-top, gesturing out to the security and surety of the future. “You could have all of this,” he said.

But there’s so much more for me! I have learned and grown in my time as a Funeral Director. But it’s time to move on.

Is it time for you to stop living someone else’s vision for your life?

You can connect with me on Twitter, Google+, and LinkedIn!

2 thoughts on “Live Your Vision

  1. I hear you bro! My dreams are to be a full time writer and speaker but right now that’s not an option for me. I’m working until I can work for myself. Great thoughts!

    1. You’re on track, Dan! When we’re not moving toward an independent vision for our lives, we’re just going through the motions. Not many people make the kind of difference they want doing that!

Leave a Reply

